Joy for Joy

Last week came and went in such a flurry, I’m not really sure I ever knew what day it was. It was very exciting and I met some truly wonderful people. I listened. I learned. I shared. I had amazing adventures. I enjoyed myself. I am happily exhausted.

I wasn’t sure what to post about this week, since I feel quite jumbled after such a high energy tour. I was literally on for usually more than 12 hours a day, which is why I lost track of what day/time it was and just tried to remember where I was supposed to be next. Hopefully we will be getting some help, so I won’t have to feel like I’m on the edge of chaos. I have recently started following an online journal through Facebook, the Elephant Journal. They have given me many ideas for posts, that I wish I could post right when I think about them! Usually I just forget them….anyways this article focused on the fact that you get back what you give out.

I’ve read some about the law of attraction, which the Elephant Journal article doesn’t talk about, but I think is pretty similar. The Law of Attraction is a metaphysical belief that positive thoughts and actions bring about positive results and negative thoughts and actions bring about negative results. Now, I believe we do not have control of what happens in life and some bad things happen to good people. But think about it for a moment, when you’re in a good mood, thinking positive thoughts, and treating people how you would want them to treat you, usually you get positive results. The same goes for the negative thoughts, such as when your angry or mad and showing the world how you feel, you usually get back negative results (and people probably don’t really want to be around you). We cannot realistically expect others or the world to give us something that we are not willing to give ourselves.

Amida, author of the Elephant Journal article, says, “it’s a matter of realizing that we can effect the way people treat us, the way we experience the world, and in the end it isn’t about avoiding difficulties it’s about how we feel at the core of our being no matter what the external occurrences may be. The more love you give the more love you will receive. The more smiles you give away the more they will be reflected back to you.”

Try for one day smiling at everyone you see and overusing the words, please and thank you. At the end of the day take note of how you feel. I know this tactic helped on my tour. No matter how stressed out I was or how tired I was, a responding wave from the car next to us or a smile from a stranger really helped make my day go better. I’ve posted some photos below of some of the little moments that helped remind me I only get what I give.

A little offering for when you Shine

A loving Mother and Daughter duo

There is only love and light inside your hula hoop

fond memories of the past

a lesson of trust and fun

pure enjoyment

an instigator of laughter and smiles

the view from the best bathroom in Chicago

Leave a Reply

