A Time to Inspire Others

“I am only one, but I am one.  I cannot do everything, but I can do something.  And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do. ” ~Edward Everett Hale

Over the past few months I have been inspired by several experiences to make this Christmas exceptionally selfless. These experiences have cultivated into me making the decision to forgo all possible Christmas presents this year. Instead what I ask is that my friends and family that feel inspired to donate their time to someone in need or to make a monetary contribution to a charity of their choice.

I do not have everything I want, but I am consistently given what I need. With this in mind, I know there are those who do not have what they need to live a joyous life. Because of this I urge you to take a moment during this holiday season to do what you can for those less fortunate than yourself. There are many causes in this world that claim our attention and each has a different impact on us. My hope is that you pick one that is close to your heart, which will provide you with the most satisfaction.

While at the International Spa Association Conference in Washington, D.C. I was fortunate to hear from a passionate leader of the spa industry, Mrs. Deboarh Szekely, who urged those at the conference to “practice what we preach”. The Spa industry is focused on holistic principles and helping their clients create a strong balanced foundation, whether it be through beauty or traditional spritual practices. I am inspired by the spa industry to help those around me. The quote at the beginning of this blog I believe represents what Doc Hendley was trying to portray with his speech at the ISPA Conference. He started the organization Wine to Water by taking that first intial step and not letting the expansiveness of the water problem override his efforts. While his organization cannot help everyone without clean drinking water today, he can help at least one. This is my goal for this holiday season. My hope is to brighten the day of one person, to help at least one person feel that they have what they need.

I have included a list of organizations that are close to my heart, but I urge you to find the one that when you decide to donate your time or money brings about that warm feeling of the joy of helping another. I would also love to hear who you helped, so please post your comments and share your happiness with others this season.

My Personal Organizations:

The Council on Alcohol and Drugs: The mission of The Council is to keep the community healthy, productive and safe by providing services and information to all who may be adversely affected by alcohol and drugs.

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention: The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is at the forefront of research, education and prevention initiatives designed to reduce loss of life from suicide. With more than 33,000 lives lost each year in the U.S. and over one million worldwide, the importance of AFSP’s mission has never been greater, nor our work more urgent.

Wine to Water: Wine To Water is a non-profit aid organization focused on providing clean water to needy people around the world. Nearly 1 billion people in the world today lack access to adequate water and 2.5 billion people lack access to improved sanitation. We are devoted to fighting this epidemic. Wine symbolizes fortune in our society. Our goal is to give the fortunate population an opportunity to fight for those who can’t fight for themselves.

One thought on “A Time to Inspire Others

  1. Ok, here’s my plan. I would like to go with you to Way Station Christmas morning and I have made donations on your behalf to The Parish School, School of the Woods and Teen and Family Services. Love you!

Leave a Reply

