A New Year, A New Challenge

WordPress has posted a challenge to make a Post a Week (really it’s a post a day, but I know that isn’t doable for me at the moment). Truly I’m not even sure if a post a week is doable, but I believe this year will bring many blessings and new adventures that I would love to share. Also, since I have just started this blog it will help me develop the habit of posting!

This year for me is all about travel. I will be graduating college in December, so I feel it is fitting that I take advantage of my last “scheduled breaks” throughout my semesters. My largest goal is to backpack through South America in the summer with a good friend of mine for possibly two months. We have just begun our research and are not sure where to go, but we both would like to make volunteering and spirituality our main priorities. If you have any advice or suggestions on where we should go, PLEASE comment!

I would also like to road trip through different parts of America using a great new community I was introduced to called Couchsurfing.org. This website works to create a “world where everyone can explore and create meaningful connections with the people and places they encounter.” They do this through having people create profiles of “couches” they will let people crash on and through allowing those traveling to make profiles about themselves and their travels. I have met several people who have used this community to further their knowledge of this expansive world we live in and all I hear is positive, inspiring stories. I hope to be able to become a part of this community through my travels.

This week I will be making a short travel stop in Austin, Texas to visit my cousin. I have been to Austin multiple times, but this time I will also be able to meet up with a CouchSurfer I met in Houston before he moved to Austin. I hope to introduce him to those I know in Austin and make this world a little smaller to those around me 🙂

Well here goes to posting every week and increasing my travels…wish me luck 🙂

“Adventure is a path. Real adventure – self-determined, self-motivated, often risky – forces you to have firsthand encounters with the world. The world the way it is, not the way you imagine it. Your body will collide with the earth and you will bear witness. In this way you will be compelled to grapple with the limitless kindness and bottomless cruelty of humankind – and perhaps realize that you yourself are capable of both. This will change you. Nothing will ever again be black-and-white.” – Mark Jenkins

One thought on “A New Year, A New Challenge

  1. I just read your blog and I’m very inspired by it I must say! I’m guessing you got the crazy couch surfing idea from Cahal? Haha that whole idea makes me nervous but I did meet two girls that he was hosting that bused all the way from New York to New Orleans and they seemed to be having a great time so it may be a lot of fun.

    As far as the volunteer work in South America that sounds like an amazing idea and when you get the details sorted out I would love to hear more about it!

    Good luck with posting every week! I’ll stay tuned and can’t wait to see you this semester!

Leave a Reply

