I CHOOSE Happiness

Happiness. It’s something we all desire and aim to achieve, but what is it? And how do we get there?

Happiness, as defined by The Happiness Institute in Australia, is “an entirely subjective experience” that “covers a range of positive emotions.” The terms definition differs for each individual and is characterized by high and low arousal levels of positive emotions such as joy, excitement, contentment, peace, and tranquility. Dr. Timothy Sharp, founder of The Happiness Institute, says that happiness is achieved through realizing that life has it’s good and bad episodes, causing your levels of arousal to fluctuate throughout your life. Happiness is attained through doing things that keep your arousal somewhat stable at the level that fits you personally. To assist in attaining your level of happiness, Dr. Sharp, coined the acronym CHOOSE;

  • Clarity in goal setting and your life’s purpose
  • Healthy living
  • Optimistic, but realistic, thinking
  • Others, the key relationships in your life
  • Strengths, your core qualities and attributes
  • Enjoy the moment

During my website browse of The Happiness Institute, I found an interesting list called “100 Ways to Happiness: a guide for busy people”, being a “busy” personI figured this could help me. While I already feel happy a large amount of the time, I am consistently looking for ways to enhance that. After looking over the list I have decided to try and do one habit everyday for 100 days. I believe it will help me CHOOSE to be happy! 🙂

Day 1 Habit: “redefine happiness” Happiness to me is feeling content in the present moment, staying true to how I feel and taking the necessary actions to return to my high level of joy if I should stray.

I’ll keep you updated on how the rest of these days go, in my post EVERY WEEK 🙂

If you would like to see the full list of 100 Ways to Happiness, visit this link: http://www.thehappinessinstitute.com/freeproducts/docs/100%20Ways%20to%20Happiness.pdf

“Since you get more joy out of giving joy to others, you should put a good deal of thought into the happiness that you are able to give.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

