Keep It Simple

This post has come a little later than the others…for the same reason as last weeks was short…I am just a tad bit busy!

Tonight, though, I was reminded to keep it simple. A common phrase I hear from many people in my life, but always seem to forget till I feel overwhelmed and as if I’ve taken on too much. Fortunately I have been blessed right now to have many opportunities that I can take advantage of, unfortunately I also have the tendency to believe I should do all of these at once. I believe in doing everything to the best of my ability, so this causes a dilemma! Being reminded to keep it simple helps to ground me back in the hear and now, allowing me to let go of some of the stress I place on myself.

A gentleman said tonight, “be honest, but not so honest you hurt someone; be open-minded, but not so open-minded that your brains fall out; and be willing and if you can’t be willing, be willing to be willing to be willing”. This to me is the HOW (honesty, open-mindedness, and willingness) of trying to keep my life simple. I am not perfect at any of these things, as my current stress level has shown me, but I am trying my best. Honesty is something I try to do in all my affairs, but to be honest I must be vulnerable which is not something that I am always comfortable with. It is a growing process that I learn from those who have gone before me, whom I have grown to trust. Being open-minded is actually something that I was taught from a young age and I am appreciative that it was not a hard concept to grasp. Open-mindedness, for me, is the ability to see people, places, and things without judgment or preconceived notions. This is not easy to do at all times and I do find myself falling short, more so when I am not balanced. My willingness to be honest and open-minded constantly fluctuates. I find it ironic that the acronym for HOW leaves willingness at the end, when I believe I could not be honest or open-minded without being willing first. When I am grounded in the moment, grateful to be where I am, I find I am more willing to do the things necessary to keep me there. It is when I am unbalanced that the “work” seems to much and the pay-off too little. This ebb and flow that my life will always have allows me the opportunity to learn, to grow, and to constantly evolve.

For now, I pray that I may keep it simple, one day at a time.

One thought on “Keep It Simple

Leave a Reply

