It Smells Like Trees!!

Well it’s been awhile since my last post…and a lot has changed! I finished the spring school semester, I left my job in Houston, was accepted into an internship with The Buzz Bus on a health and wellness tour around the country, moved to Denver for the majority of the next four months, and began my job with The Buzz Bus…all since my last post on April 24th.

When I found out I was accepted into the internship (through a video I posted on Facebook), I literally screamed out loud for joy! I then began the two-week process of solidifying my travel plans to Denver and giving my current job notice of my almost immediate departure, all amidst finals week for my spring semester…needless to say it was a pretty hectic, yet exciting time.

I have to admit that I was nervous about leaving the strong support group that I have come to rely on in Houston. I knew that I would be carrying their strength with me, but this was a new adventure into unknown territory and I was slightly fearful of the unknown. My friends and family reassured me, when I shared my fears, that even though it may be hard they knew that I would have no trouble creating a new support network once I arrived in Denver. So, I took their courage, strength, and love to embark on an amazing adventure.

Welcome to Beauty
this is beauty

Upon arriving in Denver, the main thing that struck me was the smell of the trees. There is just this certain smell of green life and it was the first thing that comforted me when I arrived – I knew I was in the right place.

My first day in Colorado I went to Seven Falls, a seven-tier waterfall in a natural box canyon. It was extraordinary and breathtaking.

185 steps was totally worth this view
another 224 steps to this breathtaking view

The next day I went to see the place where I would be staying while in Denver. My friend David, from high school, had graciously offered up his humble abode and come to find out was right in the middle of town and only a block away from a gorgeous park.

My Temporary Denver Home!

The bus system was quite easy to figure out and for my first day of work I took the bus half way and then walked the rest of the way to work. I was soon to find out that many people do this, as this is a very pedestrian/bike-friendly city! PERFECT!

Our workspace is in a community space called Green Spaces. It’s a comfortable environment located just on the edge of downtown Denver.

My new office!

doesn't this just look like a cool place to work

The women I get to work with are all very open, honest, and fun! We set our Monday for my first tour and I am excited to see where our adventures take us. I look forward to getting to know them better (which is inevitable since all four of us will be living on a bus for at least two weeks out of every month!).

I will begin to make weekly posts again and keep you updated on the adventures to come!

Thank you to everyone who has made this experience possible for me. Without your continued support, encouragement, and love I would not be where I am today. I am grateful for you and I love you.

follow my blog to see where our journey takes us

Leave a Reply

