LOVE WORK?

Inspire Love

Inspire Love

LOVE and WORK are two four-letter words that not many people put in the same sentence, unless you include the word “don’t”. I have definitely struggled with keeping those two words positively associated and the negative associations have led to some job changes. It took me awhile to truly comprehend that I do not “owe” the companies I work for my sanity. I feel very strongly about honoring the commitments I make, but if I have tried methods to make it work and it still is making me unhappy, then it’s time for a change. I have one life, one day at a time, and it is not anyone’s for the taking.

I currently LOVE the industry I am in and I really do love my work. Curt Rosengren wrote for the US News on ‘Why Loving Your Work Matters‘, saying that it not only benefits you, but also the world around you. “Your life is an interconnected system. When work leaves you feeling energized and engaged, that spills over into the rest of your life.” He goes on to list five benefits that loving your work has: 1) you have more energy to put back in your work, 2) you have more energy to put into relationships, 3) you have more energy to put into making a difference, 4) you have more energy to put into enjoying life, and 5) you have more energy to put into overcoming challenges. With the possibility of getting all that extra energy, why wouldn’t you want to love your work? (Check out Curt Rosengren’s website to get energized. inspired. engaged.)

Writing in the aftermath of choosing between my happiness and a job is a lot easier than writing during that decision-making process. It’s not easy to leave a job. Economic insecurities, friendships made, and promises talked about can make it hard to leave a secure job. In the end though, the company can always find a replacement – you cannot always create love for something that drains you. I encourage you to take a deeper look into what you have a passion for and apply that to your work, if they don’t match up well it may be time for a change.

“Passion is the energy that comes from bringing more of YOU into what you do.” – Curt Rosengren

Leave a Reply

