My Hero

My Father. Daniel Louis Sornson. 1954-2004.

Father’s Day really isn’t a day that I pay attention to anymore – it has come and gone for six years and I’ve never really given it much thought. Without my dad here there’s not a physical person to celebrate with, so why make a big deal out of it, right? I think about my dad everyday, so this day is nothing out of the ordinary. But today, because of this road trip, I woke up in a household of a family that is celebrating father’s day, honoring the dad in the family. So it got me thinking about my dad. My hero.

I consider myself a HUGE daddy’s girl. I can still remember, when I was little, wanting to be just like him. He would take us with him to his office some days and I would go into the conference room with my siblings and act like I was the head of the company (just like my dad) telling my co-workers (siblings) what needed to be done. I imagined working with him and possibly running his company one day. My dad was a kid all his life, always getting us random toys (zip-lines, pogo sticks, and unicycles) and insisting to use them before we did, “to make sure they were safe”. He was the center of my life. He made me think, made me work hard for what I wanted, and taught me how to enjoy life.
Life has a funny way of changing your dreams, though, and since he’s passed away I’ve had to re-examine what I want from life. I believe I have become and am still becoming the woman he wanted me to be, living a life that he would’ve tried his best to give me – that he did try his best to give me. I miss him so much. There are so many things I want to share with him, ask him questions about, learn from him. These days have passed, but he lives in my heart and still guides me through my days. I love you, Dad.

My Dad and his faithful friend

 

My parents, Dan & Sara

 

My favorite picture with my dad

 

We loved the Circus

 

Jimmy Eat World – Hear You Me

there’s no one in town i know
you gave us someplace to go
i never said thank you for that
thought i might get one more chance

what would you think of me now?
so lucky
so strong
so proud
never said thank you for that
now i’ll never have a chance

may angels lead you in
hear you me my friends
on sleepless roads the sleepless go
may angels lead you in

what would you think of me now?
so lucky
so strong
so proud
never said thank you for that
now i’ll never have a chance

may angels lead you in
hear you me my friends
on sleepless roads the sleepless go
may angels lead you in

if you were with me tonight
i’d sing to you just one more time
a song for a heart so big god wouldn’t let it live

may angels lead you in
hear you me my friends
on sleepless roads the sleepless go
may angels lead you in

may angels lead you in
hear you me my friends
on sleepless roads the sleepless go
may angels lead you in

Leave a Reply

