A New Breath

The Buzz Bus Tour has started its seventh tour (my fifth!). I can’t believe how much time has gone by, it seems very unreal actually. Before this tour started I reflected on the fact that I was pretty uncomfortable.Unexpectedly, I was given the opportunity to go home for a couple of days and it was exactly what I didn’t know I needed. I was able to take time to reflect back on the past few months, gain some perspective, and come back with a new sense of purpose and enjoyment for what I’m doing. I was able to take a new breath.

Since I flew back to Los Angeles last Tuesday we have traveled to Corona, California for an all day Hula-Rama event with Glen Ivy Hot Springs, pulled the Airstream into the Long Beach Convention Center, participated in the International Congress of Esthetics and Spa Trade Show, and pulled out the Airstream this morning before heading to Las Vegas, Nevada (I am writing this as we drive). Hula-Rama was a fun event, yet VERY HOT (yes it felt worse than Houston, because we couldn’t escape the heat for 8 hours). We set up the Airstream for people to check out, handed out collateral, hula-hooped with Hoopnotica during their classes, and got to play in the healing mud that is one of Glen Ivy signature amenities. Pulling the Airstream into the convention center wasn’t as hard (or nerve-racking) as I though it was going to be. We had to show up two days early to pull in before they set up anything else, but it was worth it! The trade show was from 9-6pm both Sunday and Monday and I’m pretty sure I don’t have a voice today, because of how many people we talked to! We got a lot of interest for our tour though, so overall it was a great success. We are now headed to Las Vegas for some work and a little pleasure…maybe a new tattoo…who knows…it’s VEGAS BABY!

Over the past week I’ve learned, well re-learned that nothing is personal. I was reminded that when agitated or frustrated to pause, take a breath, and respond without the past or future in mind. I learned how a hand wash with SPF in it actually continues to protect your hand even after you wash it off. They figured out a balance similar to that of oil and water so the sunscreen stays and the dirt washes off. I think I may have learned some more, but my mind is still slightly exhausted from the last two days!

What kept me happy during the past week: laughter. showing kindness to a stranger. hula-hooping. smiling (no matter how tired I was)

two of the women that help me stay present

 

my anchor

 

two hula-hoops at Glen Ivy Hot Springs

 

we got a little play time

 

me and the artist of my hand painted Buzz Bus tattoo

 

the guys from the tanning booth across from us came to play!

Leave a Reply

