Traditions for the Non-traditional

Quick Note: I’ve been “working” on this blog for the past three months haha

I’ve never been one to consider myself a traditional person. I like changing routines and making every memory a bit different. I would consider my friends (the recently married) Mr. and Mrs. Daniel and Christina Sumrall to be the same. Even from their first “group date” it was apparent that these two didn’t follow the “traditional” route and were engaged just two months after their first date. When you know, you know, right?

Christina & Daniel Sumrall

Christina & Daniel Sumrall

Anyways – I have never felt drawn to religion, usually because of the strong conformity or damnation message that I hear from those I’ve experienced.

Over the past few months, though, I’ve found a new appreciation for the traditions that are part of these religions.
Christina and Daniel had a traditional Catholic Ceremony. While their reception was anything but traditional, besides it following the wedding and consisting of food and dancing, their ceremony was very traditional. I was pleasantly surprised by the positive emotions I felt in response to the Catholic Marriage Ceremony. I was again surprised by my emotions in reaction to multiple religious ceremonies I’ve experienced in the past few months.

The traditions of these ceremonies reminded me that at the center of life, we are one. We come into this world the same, experience similar milestones, and all depart through death. We are interdependent beings all following our own path.
Catholics, or most religious practices, perform the same rituals for every marriage, every birth, every death. I believe this shows us that while each of us may be different, we all experience the same emotions.

Lena & Kody Dobecka

Lena & Kody Dobecka

These traditions allow our emotions to flow freely throughout the sacred space, guiding you through the fear of change…the fear our emotions can bring. The familiarity of the same tradition, the same process – gives you something to hold onto as you approach a new beginning. It’s concrete, it’s tangible – unlike our faith which requires dependence on that which cannot be seen…unlike our emotions which ebb and flow with no real warnings. The traditions ground us into the present, while our emotions ride on the waves of our faith.

I believe the traditions, the rules, the regulations, the commandments, the laws that govern every religion – they are just there to make sense of that which cannot be described or touched. They try to describe your faith.
I’ve tried to write here before what my faith is. And it’s still even hard for me to put into words – wouldn’t it be easier to accept someone else’s words – someone’s else idea. Now I’m not saying religion is the easier way, that they aren’t people within every religion that have their own meaning for what faith is. What I’m trying to say is that religion for me provides too many restraints on my faith.

I’ve gained a new respect for the necessity of traditions to show us all how alike we are – to bring us all to the same level.

Christina & Daniel Sumrall

Christina & Daniel Sumrall

Christina & Daniel Sumrall

Christina & Daniel Sumrall

Lena & Kody Dobecka

Lena & Kody Dobecka

Lena & Kody Dobecka

Lena & Kody Dobecka

Leave a Reply

